Returning to Memphis – Twisted!

Going back to Charleston was not a good choice.  I’ve made many bad choices and that was not good timing to return.  It was too soon for my best friend and I to re-kindle our friendship that was injured along with my head injury and there was too much hurt, anger, and betrayal still in my heart from the kids I went to high school with and the University that I believed in and disappointed me.  My family was not as excited about the products that I was selling as I was and did not support that decision either.  All around I felt more alone than EVER!!!

The day after Christmas I decided to go in town to see who was out and about and home for the holidays.  I ran into someone who I had not seen for a while and we ended up playing pool, catching up, laughing and have an amazing evening.  He and I ran in the same circle of friends but never were really friends ourselves so he didn’t have much to compare me to as to how I was BEFORE the accident.  It was refreshing.  There were no expectations from him.

We ended up spending a great deal of time together.  I told him going in that I would be moving back to Memphis to go to school.  His response was “When are we leaving?”.  I had made arrangements to stay with a friend in Memphis but it didn’t include two people so I was not sure what we were going to do.  We stayed in a crappy motel for a couple of nights until I reconnected with a few friends.  They were staying in a very large old mansion that was run down in Midtown.  They said that we could stay in one of the rooms until we found a place.  It was creepy and haunted but lots of fun!  Too much really, not much sleep there.  Both of us were able to find employment pretty quickly and rented out a warehouse studio apartment downtown where both of our jobs were located. I was waiting tables and he worked at a machine shop.  We were able to buy furniture and items to fill the space.

It was a fun space with concrete floors.  We came up with an idea to paint a Twister board on the floor.  It took us weeks to make it perfect.  We purchased a Twister game and made a stencil out of the board, taped it down and used spray paint to make the circles.  We put several coats on and then outlined the circles with black and painted twister on either side, just like the board.  However, we changed the rules a little bit so we changed the name to TwisteD 🙂  After the colors were down we got clear shellac to protect the color from peeling and scratches.  There were quite a few fun evenings with that Twisted board!  The rules changed according to our audience and players.

Leave a comment